Valued Feedback

Read what some of the families and residents of Pearlcare have said about our homes.

“My mother has been a resident at Ladydale for five months, during a very challenging Covid period. Ladydale came well recommended to us by the families of other residents. From my very first contact with staff, right through to the present date, I have found every single member helpful and willing to answer questions in a down-to-earth, most friendly, and professional manner. There has never been a single instance of doubt in my mind about the level of supervision and staff commitment to the high standards of care and attention that family members have a right to expect. I have visited people in other care homes where sadly, the standard falls short of the happy and supportive atmosphere enjoyed by residents at Ladydale. Of particular note is the considerable effort made by staff to organise activity events that engage and stimulate residents both mentally and physically. I have no hesitation in recommending Ladydale to anyone seeking a well-run care home for their relative.”

Ivan K, Son of Resident at Ladydale, 8th December 2021

“My aunty will be 100 this year, she went into Ladydale 4 years ago unable to care for herself properly and safely. I am convinced that without the good care she has received we would not still have her.”

Anthony D, Nephew of Resident at Ladydale, 8th December 2021

“In these very difficult times, the carers have looked after mum with compassion and dedication. I’m so impressed that the staff obviously know mum so well when I phone. The Manager knows all mum’s details whenever I need to contact the home. Mum has settled well and enjoys all the activities that the activity coordinator organises. The photos on Facebook are a joy to see. Thank you to everyone at The Laurels. I’ve had limited opportunity to view facilities with covid restrictions so my ratings reflect that.”

Lesley D, Daughter of Resident at The Laurels, 2nd November 2021

“During the start of the pandemic, my Nan was moved to the Laurel’s from hospital and we were so lucky this was the case. The staff made a difficult transition with additional challenges of isolation as smooth as they possibly could have been; helping with phone calls and window visits. They have gone above and beyond to ensure we are able to see our loved ones within lockdown. The staff are extremely helpful and clearly know the residents well. Nan always appreciates the activities and it’s a joy to see her still enjoying being creative!”

Lydia F, Granddaughter of Resident at The Laurels Care Home, 25th October 2021

“My mother has lived at the Old Rectory for 21/2 yrs. She suffers from sight, hearing and mobility problems. After the latest update, ‘this is the right decision (to keep closed) the group have had an excellent record during this time. The Rectory has been fantastic in looking after our loved ones. This is down to the staff and their dedication which is A*. We look forward to seeing our loved ones when it is safe to do so. 
Again, they all go above and beyond in every aspect.”

Ann K, Daughter of Resident at The Old Rectory, 4th October 2021

“I visited an old neighbour in the care home during lockdown via the most amazing little room which had been cleverly adapted to ensure even during tough times, residents could see friends and loved ones. The staff are friendly and helpful and the home is a happy place for residents and visitors.”

Claire B, Friend of Resident at The Old Vicarage, 14th September 2021

“My mother (in-law) moved into The Old Rectory in January 2021 with dementia, following a long battle at home against the disease. The family had no other choice but to place Mum in a Care Home for her own safety, (the family were attending her 24 hours a day seven days a week for the final three months). She was very agitated and frightened and could not be or wanted to be left alone, however following considerable understanding, reassurance and care from the staff at the Old Rectory her demeanour became less agitated and frightened, the staff were excellent and understanding in attending to her special needs, unfortunately, Mum passed away in May 2021.
The professional care and commitment shown to her by all the staff were excellent. The family would like to send them our heartfelt thanks.”

Kevin B, Son-in-law of Resident at Old Rectory, 6th September 2021

“I find all the staff at Ladydale to be very friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them, even though they are under incredible pressures with Covid. With regards to my aunt, they have given her a new lease of life, including her in activities they think she will enjoy. I cannot believe the difference in her every time I visit. It gives me such relief to know she is being looked after so well, has company, is safe and nothing to worry about. Thank you everyone from the bottom of my heart.”

Christine Bi, Niece of Resident at Ladydale, 31st August 2021

“The location is beautiful which is lovely for Grandad as he likes looking outside if there is activity going on.
The staff are all lovely and treat Grandad with dignity and respect.
Nice to see pictures of the residents doing activities.”

Hayley L, Granddaughter of Resident at Holly Bank, 23rd August 2021

“My Mother in law was a resident at The Knights Retirement Home for the last few months of her life. She was reluctant to leave her home but was unable to care for herself any more. It was a huge decision for the family and finding the right place was a massive responsibility for my brothers-in-law. We were all greatly relieved when she moved in as she was now safe. The care and attention she got from all the staff was marvellous. They were always polite and helpful. The atmosphere here is so positive and the residents appear happy and stimulated. Recently she sadly passed away, my family are so grateful to The Knights for making her comfortable and safe her final months. Thank you.”

Elaine H, Daughter-in-law of Resident at The Knights, 15th August 2021

“Mum was well cared for and was always shown compassion. Her individual needs were met and over time her ability to interact and her activities of daily living improved. The staff always listened to the family and put into place our requests. Communication with the family was always prompt and when it came to end of life care, the staff really excelled in looking after Mum and provided amazing support for the family too.”

Helen R, Daughter of Resident at Wellfield, 10th August 2021

“After a spell in hospital, it was decided Mum could no longer safely look after herself. She was worried about going into a care home but after the first 2 weeks of settling in, she loved it. All the staff were extremely welcoming and attentive, she got involved with all the activities and enjoyed the singalongs. Mum thought the world of the carers and always had praise for them, she said it’s like staying in a hotel. Mum, unfortunately, passed away in the home at 91 years of age, which is where she wanted to be. We, the family, would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff for the professional and caring way they looked after our mother until the end. Once again thank you all.”

Linda W, Daughter of Resident at The Old Vicarage, 2nd August 2021

“Since my mother moved into Spratslade house, she has been so happy and well. The staff are lovely and work so hard! Mum says the food is great, and everyone is so kind to her. She is well cared for, and most of all, safe! Well done Spratslade house. Thank you!”

Janette P, Daughter of Resident at Spratslade House, 25th July 2021

“The staff have always been warm, welcoming and informative. My mother has no complaints. They have taken care of all her needs, particularly medical. Previously, she was at home with carers and did not eat properly or ask them to do anything. Since being at Spratslade, she has put weight back on and looks and appears healthy.”

Patricia G, Daughter of Resident at Spratslade, 19th July 2021

Having been unable to visit Wellfield prior to my mother needing residential care (due to the pandemic and travel restrictions) we were guided by Mum’s social worker and the reports on the CQC (or Welsh equivalent). We cannot believe how fortunate we are. Mum is in such a caring, clean, friendly, dynamic and proactive environment- we really couldn’t have asked for more. The staff, the care, the atmosphere- everything is fantastic!

Sue U, Daughter of Resident at Wellfield, 13th July 2021

My mum (96) has been a resident at The Knights Care Home since August 2020. The management and staff are all very helpful and caring. The activities coordinator does an amazing job, always finding different things to keep the residents entertained. There are Facebook updates on a daily basis, so that you can see what has been happening each day. The food looks lovely and they often do afternoon teas and present them so beautifully on china plates and cups. I take my mum out most days now that restrictions have been lifted and the Carers are always happy to get her ready in her wheelchair and she loves going to Ashton Gardens, which is conveniently placed almost next to The Knights. The staff are all doing an amazing job, in very difficult times just now and I am happy that they are looking after my mum very well.

Julie G, Daughter of Resident at The Knights, 4th July 2021

“Throughout the four years that my mother was at Beechy Knoll, the care was of the highest standard. The team are diligent and professional, with a huge dollop of humour mixed in there. During my mother’s final days, the care that both, she, and the family received was of the highest order.”

John H, Son of Resident at Beachy Knoll, 28th June 2021

“I am very happy with my mum’s care at Heatherside. The home is very clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly. My mum’s room is comfortable and very light. She seems to be very well looked after. I have peace of mind that she is happy in her daily life.”

Maxine F, Daughter of Resident at Heatherside, 20th June 2021

“A home full of care and attention, my mum was treated with respect and made me feel secure knowing that she was now in a place of safety and not at home where she was wandering the streets at 3 am. The staff are all lovely, I have only seen them via the door and spoke over the phone but I have nothing but nice words to say. The management have been so helpful, they really have made this experience much easier than I ever thought it would be. We heard about Wellfield from our local running group and the feedback was all too true, a place where you would want your mum or dad to live. Thanks to all the staff, management and higher above for creating such a safe cove for my mum, I’ve not slept so well in a long time.”

David S, Son of Resident at Wellfield, 13th June 2021

“I think the home are doing an outstanding job in looking after my grandmother and making sure her and the other residents are safe. All the correct PPE to enable everyone is protected and so the visits can go ahead. They do lots of fun activities in which I follow on the Facebook page. My grandmother seems very content and always looks comfortable and clean. I couldn’t recommend them enough, the staff are always smiling and are very professional.”

Jade L, Granddaughter of Resident at Heatherside, 6th June 2021

“My husband has been living at The Laurels for 5 months and I think we definitely made the right choice of home for him. The staff could not be kinder or more welcoming to myself or our family. He can be difficult, but they have gone out of their way to help him settle in, and feel at home.”

Carolyn H, Wife of Resident at The Laurels, 23rd May 2021

“Never have I had any doubts about my mother’s care. The staff, everyone has always cared for mum so well. The office accounts are always done correctly too. She is comfortable, cared for, loved, secure, wonderful meals, everything is done nicely.
I’ve not one criticism at all to make. Mum came in January 2008. My dad was in before for 3 and a quarter years. He was well looked after also.
In my opinion staff at these excellent homes should be paid extra by the government. They save the NHS a fortune because they give nursing care to the elderly, saving hospital bed spaces.”

Freda N, Daughter of Resident at Ladydale, 16th May 2021

“The Old Rectory is an excellent home; with staff who go above and beyond. 
Food is very good, with needs being catered for. 
I cannot speak highly enough of their care, especially in these very difficult times.”

Ann K, Daughter of Resident at The Old Rectory, 4th May 2021

“From the first day I telephoned to find a placement for my uncle, the manager and staff did everything they could to accommodate him. They arranged brand new furniture, etc for his bedroom, put his own pictures and clock etc up for him, so it felt like home ready for when he moved in December 2020 and has been so happy there. The staff cannot do enough for him; they are always courteous and polite and are always checking to see if he is ok or needs anything. He has told me the food is exceptional and always plenty of it, including drinks; he has a digital care plan where extras are arranged like his sachet coffee and Bailey’s; if he wants anything, he only has to ask.
As we are during a pandemic, the manager and staff explained the vaccine and isolation process and the testing, so my uncle is always informed; they also ring me to keep me informed. The staff went above and beyond and moved into the home whilst the vaccine worked this shows how much they care about the residents that they care for!”

Sheena R, Niece of Resident at Sandford, 7th April 2021

“A lovely care home. I looked at many and was despairing of finding one that I felt comfortable leaving Mum in. From the very first visit, I felt relieved and happy that Mum would be in safe and caring hands. All the staff are both professional and caring at all times. and have gone the extra mile to help Mum!”

G P, Daughter of Resident at Spratslade, 30th March 2021